top of page

Meet the Gampr


In addition to herding dogs, livestock guardians are an integral part of owning livestock. Please allow me to introduce Argos, a 2.5 year old registered male Armenian Gampr originally imported from Armenia, but lately of ON. The Gampr is a rare breed of livestock guardian that is protective against man & beast on territory, but is always extremely loyal and sweet with his family, excellent with children, and generally outgoing when off territory.

He's smart & amenable. While he had to be lifted into the car when we first got him, by potty #1, he jumped in with me calling him from in front and a bit of a tug on the leash, and by potty #2, he readily jumped in when we opened the door. :) He has shown submissive behavior towards me when I was eating my lunch in front of him. All it took was one quiet "uh uh' from me when he sought to sniff and he turned his butt around and lay down, never attempting to interrupt my meal again.

All pictures of Argos with pups and pigs as well as the X-ray photo are courtesy of Erin Ingham. In the vehicle picture we were enroute to our house post pick up in Whitecourt. The pictures of Argos on leash were taken on Argos' first walk through the pastures here. He was calm and walked beautifully on the leash :) So far I'm very pleased with the sweet, even keeled, gentle temperament I'm seeing in this boy. Very thankful that Ingham Farms chose to bless us by allowing us to bring this boy home. :) More about Argos on our Armenian Gamprs page.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
Swan Ridge Farm logo 2021 -6 final.jpg
bottom of page